Home > Travel > Mardi Gras?

Mardi Gras?

I have been to New Orleans many times before, during and after Mardi Gras. I expect parades and beads and revelry. What I don’t expect, though, is to get to Galveston and be delayed and detoured because the main road by the sea is totally closed for a Mardi Gras parade. I got kinda impatient. We finally got to the hotel after detouring around the island and checked in only to find there were no parking spaces. Well, that isn’t technically true. There was an overflow lot that had a space. So we parked there and lugged our bags all of the 1 1/2 blocks back to the hotel. I wish I could say that I was magnanimous with the poor desk clerk. I told her that there was no parking and was told that it was “Mardi Gras” with a spirited, festive tone. I could care less. All of those juiced-up parade goers were parked in the hotel parking lots taking up MY space. That just wouldn’t do. The desk clerk and her supervisor seemed unable to help or almost not caring that those festive parade goers had taken MY spot. It was, after all, Mardi Gras (with a spirited, festive tone.) Rhonda and I went to eat at Rainforest Cafe and watched the end of the exciting Mardi Gras parade, which we watched with a spirited, festive tone. Then it was all over and we hiked to the overflow lot and retrieved our car and parked it right next to the building. Now I kinda feel silly for getting so bothered about it. But, unfortunately, if you know anything about me, you know that is the way I am.

I don’t really get Mardi Gras. Hundreds or thousands? of people standing rows deep, waving their arms, jumping up and down hoping to get some stupid plastic beads? I don’t get it. These people were crazy. Crazy hats. Crazy RVs. Crazy glasses. Crazy language. And costumes? I don’t get it.

We can’t believe that it is finally time for our cruise. By the time you read this, we will be on the ship headed for the open sea. My plan is to take you with us so check back often. I hope to upload pictures and thoughts every evening. You will get notified when this happens.

Categories: Travel
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

